專注力不足/過度活躍症

家長指南

父母可以做些什麼來幫助您的孩子?

患有專注力不足/過度活躍症的兒童會在家庭和學校生活中面臨不同的挑戰。儘管如此,父母還是有一些指導方針可以幫助孩子克服症狀帶來的障礙,和令家庭更易和睦相處。  

1. 用“視覺日曆”建立及維持日常規律

與您的孩子一起制定時間表,讓您的孩子參與整個過程,以確保他同意每天的時間安排。日曆可以採用清單的形式,按時間順序說明何時應該做什麼。由於患有專注力不足/過度活躍症的孩子通常注意力不集中,因此建議在日曆中多善用圖片、圖畫和顏色,並將之展示在家裡顯眼的地方。

 

2. 倒數計時

給予孩子時間處理變化。在日常生活細節轉換時,例如關掉電視、吃飯、睡覺和出門之前,提前 10 分鐘提醒他。  

 

3. 專注於孩子的好行為,而非壞行為

正強化 (Positive reinforcement) 應該遠遠用多於懲罰或批評。當孩子有任何持續的良好行為時,給予適當的獎勵以促進其良好的表現,例如稱讚。請記住,稱讚時必須向您的孩子具體說明是哪些行為受到讚賞。另外,您可能偶爾會責備您的孩子。但是,您應該把您的孩子與其不當行為分開,批評應集中於他的行為和後果。  

 

4. 簽約—訂立“交易”

簽約是指與您的孩子設定一個目標,並在他實現目標後給予獎勵。至關重要的是,您的孩子同意該目標,並且該獎勵對他是有意義和帶來動力的。而所訂下的目標必須是具體、適當、可持續和有時限的。

 

5. 積極聆聽

當孩子不懂用適當的方式表達自己的情緒或發現難以跟父母道出自己的感受時,可能會透過做出問題行為來表達。因此,你需經常專心聆聽您的孩子,聆聽期間肯定他的情緒、不插嘴、不作出批判和適時歸納孩子所說的話。  

 

6. 在孩子情緒爆發時保持冷靜

控制孩子情緒爆發的關鍵在於父母的反應。家長必須盡量保持冷靜,靜心聆聽孩子的說話,肯定其負面情緖並輕聲說話。切勿呼喝孩子,因為這可能會引發孩子的“情緒崩潰”。

 

7. 為“情緒崩潰”制定規則

在您的孩子情緒爆發後,與您的孩子一起回顧他發脾氣的原因。通過討論,讓您的孩子同意在未來情緒激動時應如何表現。因此,當他下次情緒爆發時,提醒他執行協議。  

 

8. 保持孩子的睡眠衛生

充足的睡眠可減輕專注力不足/過度活躍症的症狀及提高專注力。幫助您的孩子每天遵守洗澡和刷牙的時間表。此外,您可以設置聲音柔和的睡前鬧鐘給孩子,而讓孩子蓋重力被 (weighted blanket) 也能幫助他自然入睡。  

9. 與孩子的老師密切溝通

單獨與您孩子的老師會面會很有幫助,讓他們了解孩子問題行為的誘因,以及他最佳的學習方法(例如通過看、聽或做)。您可以對孩子的課室座位安排提出要求,盡量讓他坐在能減少分心的位置。  

Reference

Shire Pharmaceuticals Limited. (2018). ADHD: A guide for parents. What to expect and how to manage.

     https://www.adhdfoundation.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2022/03/ADHD-A-Guide-for-Parents.pdf

Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder

Parents' Guide

What can Parents Do to Help Your Child?

Children with ADHD could face additional challenges in both home and school lives. Nevertheless, there are some guidelines for parents to help children overcome the obstacles brought by ADHD, and hopefully restore harmony and peace in the family. 

1. Establish a routine with “visual calendar”

Plan a timetable with your child. Include your child in the process to make sure he or she agree on the planning. A visual calendar can be in the form of a checklist, stating when and what should be done in order of time. Since children with ADHD usually inattentive, it is very useful to use pictures, drawings and colours in the calendar and display it in a conspicuous place at home.

 

2. Give countdown reminders

Allow time for your child to process change. Before making changes during the day such as turning off the TV, having meals, going to bed and leaving the house, remind him or her 10 minutes ahead. 

 

3. Focus on good behaviours, not the bad ones

Positive reinforcement should be used far more than punishments or criticisms with children with ADHD. When there is any sustained good behaviour, give appropriate rewards to promote good performance, such as praising your child for the desired behaviours. Remember, it is important to be specific to your child about which behaviours are praised. You may have to criticize your child occasionally. However, you should distinguish the improper behaviours from your child by focusing on his or her behaviours and the consequences. 

 

4. Contracting – setting up a “deal”

Contracting refers to setting a goal with your child with rewards when he or she achieves it. It is crucial that your child agrees on the behavioural change and the reward is meaningful to him or her. The goal has to be specific, appropriate, sustainable and time-bound.

 

5. Active listening

Challenging behaviours may arise when children find it hard to express their emotions in suitable ways or communicate their feelings to their parents. Therefore, always listen to your child attentively. It is essential for you to acknowledge his or her emotions and reflect on what has been said by paraphrasing without interruptions or judgements. 

 

6. Stay calm during emotional outbursts of your child

How parents react is the key to manage emotional outbursts of children. Try your best to remain calm, listen to your child, acknowledge his or her anger and speak softly. Do not yell as it may trigger a “meltdown” of your child.

 

7. Set rules for “meltdowns”

After the outburst is past and your child is settled down, review with your child the causes of his or her acting up, and let your child concur with how to behave when agitated in times to come. So, when there is an outburst of temper, carry through the agreement. 

 

8. Maintain sleep hygiene of your child

Symptoms can be lessen and concentration will be higher when children with ADHD get adequate sleep. Help your child keep to the schedule of when to bathe and brush teeth every day. Also, you can set a bedtime alarm that is quiet and not intrusive. Besides, a weighted blanket that exerts deep pressure to the body can foster children with ADHD to sleep naturally. 

 

9. Communicate closely with your child’s teachers

It is helpful to meet your child’s teachers individually to let them understand the triggers of problem behaviours of your child and how he or she learns best (e.g. through seeing, hearing or doing). You can make requests on your child’s seating arrangement in class that can help reduce distractions. 

Reference

Shire Pharmaceuticals Limited. (2018). ADHD: A guide for parents. What to expect and how to manage.

     https://www.adhdfoundation.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2022/03/ADHD-A-Guide-for-Parents.pdf