自閉症譜系障礙

家長指南

父母可以做些什麼來幫助您的孩子?

當兒童被診斷出患有自閉症譜系障礙 (ASD) 後,父母可能會在照顧時遇到困難,或者不確定什麼可以幫助到孩子。旅途偶爾可能會很艱難,情況時好時壞。  

 

以下是一些可幫助家長照顧患有自閉症的孩子的方法:

1. 提供一致性和結構

患有自閉症的兒童很難將他們從一種環境中獲得的知識或技能轉移應用到另一種環境。因此,在您孩子的環境中提供一致性是非常重要的。例如,如果您的孩子是在治療師的房間或學校學習通過交談來提出請求,請嘗試在家中模擬治療師或老師是如何訓練您的孩子。

 

2. 制定並遵從時間表

當患有自閉症的兒童有一個緊湊而有條理的時間表時,他們會努力遵循並表現得更好。安排一個時間表,明確地與您的孩子說明它,實行時不要偏離它。假如需要修改時間表,儘早通知您的孩子,並給予多次提示。

3. 給予正強化 (positive reinforcement)

正強化是指在人表現出期望行為後向他們提供獎勵,因此他們將行為與獎勵聯繫起來,以增加其行為。當您的孩子學習到新技能或行為合宜時,稱讚他也是有益的做法。請謹記,稱讚時,向您的孩子具體指出是甚麼行為受到稱讚。

4. 在家裡設置一個感官室

在家裡創造一個讓您的孩子感到安全和放鬆的地方。例如,用色彩鮮豔的視覺提示將房間與家裏的其他地方分開。如果您的孩子會自殘或做危險的行為,須確保房間的安全。

 

5. 以新穎的方式與孩子交流

善用非語言溝通可以創造很多與患有自閉症的兒童建立聯繫的機會。您可以通過看孩子的眼神、語氣、肢體語言等方式與孩子交流。您還可以了解您的孩子對哪些身體接觸感到舒服,哪些是不喜歡的。即使他不說話或從不說話,您的孩子也是在盡最大努力與您交流。可留意孩子需要某些事物時的面部表情、發出的聲音和手勢。例如,有些孩子可能只是點頭表示疲倦或飢餓。

6. 找出前因

患有自閉症的兒童很難傳達他們的需求,而這些需求往往被誤解或忽視。這可能是他們脾氣爆發的原因。尋求了解孩子問題行為背後的原因,並建立一個系統來了解他的行為、環境和事件的關連。

7. 安排玩耍時間

遊戲是每個孩子學習的必要條件。除了上學和治療課程外,還要為您和您的孩子安排遊戲時間。任何涉及社交互動的活動都有利於他的發展。  

8. 注意孩子的感官敏感度

注意您孩子在日常環境中的感官敏感性,與治療師溝通以了解哪些刺激是問題行為的觸發因素,而哪些則是您的孩子可以接受的。這可避免您的孩子遇上他害怕的情境,幫助他建立安全感和在日常生活中提供良好的體驗。   

9. 與治療師制定獨特的治療方案

跟您孩子的治療師一起找出:

a) 你孩子的長處和短處

b) 你孩子產生最多問題的行為

c) 孩子最佳的學習方式(例如通過看、聽還是做)

d) 您孩子感到愉快和放鬆的活動

 

這些資訊可用來建立一個系統,培養孩子的興趣,鼓勵他遵守時間表,將每項任務分成一連串的小步驟,並定期安排緊湊、結構化的活動。  

Reference

Elemy. (2021, December 17). Parents' guide: So your child has been diagnosed with autism.

     https://www.elemy.com/studio/guides/parents-guide/

Autism Spectrum Disorders

Parents' Guide

What can Parents Do to Help Your Child?

After children have been diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder (ASD), parents may encounter difficulties in taking care of them or feel unsure about what can help. The journey may be tough occasionally and full of ups and downs. 

 

Here are some guides on addressing the challenges posed and exploring possibilities forwards:

1. Give consistency and structure

It is difficult for children with ASD to transit their knowledge or skills acquired from one setting to another. Therefore, it is important to provide consistency in your child’s environment. For instance, if your child learns to put in a request through speaking to others at the therapist’ room or school, try to model how the therapists or teachers train your child at home.

 

2. Maintain a schedule

When children with ASD have a tight and structured schedule to keep, they will try to follow and perform better. Arrange a schedule, explicitly talk with your child about it and do not deviate from it. It is crucial to give your child prior notification as early as possible and cues whenever the schedule has to be amended.

 

3. Give positive reinforcement

Positive reinforcement refers to offering something rewarding to subjects after they exhibit a desired behaviour, so they associate the action with the rewards and increase it. It is beneficial to praise your child when he or she acquires a new skill or behaves properly. Remember, communicate concretely with your child about which specific behavior is being complimented.

 

4. Set up a sensory room at home

Create a place at home where your child is able to feel secure and relaxed. For example, separate the room with brightly coloured visual cues from other areas of the house. It is crucial to safety-proof the room if your child may self-injure or act in a dangerous way.

 

5. Connect in novel ways

Utilizing nonverbal communication can create lots of opportunities for connection with children with ASD. You can communicate with your child by the way you look at him or her, tone of voice, body language and more. You can also learn which kinds of physical touch your child feels comfortable with and which do not. Your child is trying to communicate with you with his or her best effort even he or she is not or never speaking. Notice the facial expressions, the sound made and gestures of your child when he or she needs something. For instance, some children may merely nod to show tiredness or hunger.

 

6. Find out the impetus

It is challenging for children with ASD to communicate their needs, which often be misunderstood or neglected. This may be the cause for their acting out. Seek to understand the reasons behind your child’s behaviours and establish a system to know the environment and precedents of his or her acting out.

 

7. Have fun

Play is necessary for every child to learn. Aside from attending school and therapy sessions, organize playtime for both of you and your child. Any activities that involve social interaction are advantageous to his or her development.  

 

8. Pay attention to sensory sensitivities of your child

Be conscious of your child’s sensory sensitivities in daily environment, communicate with therapist to be informed of which stimuli are triggers of disorderly behaviours and which are acceptable and manageable to your child. This can help to defuse terrifying situations for your child, providing a sense of safety and favourable experiences.   

 

9. Formulate a unique treatment plan with therapist

Work with your child’s therapist to figure out:

a. Strengths and weaknesses of your child

b. Behaviours of your child producing the most problems

c. The best way for your child to learn (e.g. through seeing, listening or doing)

d. Activities which your child feels enjoyable and relax

 

Then, you can make use of these insights to set up a system by developing your child’s interests, encouraging him or her to keep to a schedule, breaking each task into small steps, and arranging highly structured activities regularly. 

Reference

Elemy. (2021, December 17). Parents' guide: So your child has been diagnosed with autism.

     https://www.elemy.com/studio/guides/parents-guide/